This recipe for baked potato (in my local grocery store circular of all places) really caught my eye. I had some leftover prosciutto from the night before, and need a suitable pair for my delicious grass-fed eye filets. These definitely hit the mark…

ingredients:

choice of steak cut

4 Chantilly or other small baking potato

sliced prosciutto

1/4 cup parmesan cheese and bread crumbs

sage or other herbs, chopped and added to crust topping

First, thinly slice potatoes nearly (but not all the way!) to the bottom.  I used two wooden kitchen spoons as buffers on each side of the potato, to stop the knife from going all the way through.  Season and sprinkle with olive oil, and bake for 45 minutes or until softened. Rip prosciutto into pieces and press small folded bits between the slices of the potato.  Top with crust and cook for another 20-25 minutes until tender.

After searing the fillets, I used leftover crumb as a crust, popped them into the oven to cook through, and served with the sliced baked taters and salad.  Delish!

