For my birthday this year, the State of Victoria was kind enough to declare a holiday and Steve was kind enough to take me to Tasmania for the long weekend.  We spent 3 glorious days in Hobart and on the Freycinet Peninsula in TAS.  In sum, so beautiful. 

There are in our existence spots of time,

That with distinct pre-eminence retain

A renovating virtue…

That penetrates, enables us to mount, when high, more high, and lifts us up when fallen.

~ William Wordsworth

My recent reading material has awakened in me much contemplation on the subject of travel.  So it is not without pause and contemplation that I say that this was, perhaps, the most beautiful place we’ve ever been in the world.  It is certainly one of those spots in time that I will retain.  

 Annotated and pictorial story of the weekend on the out and about page; full pictures on photos page.  (Oh and, for anyone else out there for whom traveling and exploring the world around is a defining personal characteristic, I highly recommend Alain de Botton, The Art of Travel.)

